Heading to Outer Banks w/ Garrett Master Hunter ADS Deepseeker

Kiwini

Greenie
Jul 22, 2008
Upstate NY
Detector(s) used
Garrett VLF/TR Deepseeker 5.5" coil, White's CoinMaster 2000/D
Hi everybody! I came across this site while searching for tips on detecting for my upcoming trip to the Outer Banks, and have found a lot of good reading on here. A lot of nice pics posted by everyone also! I'm taking my girlfriend and her daughter (plus one of her friends) for a vacation, and figured if I took an MD along, I'm guaranteed not to be bored for 4 days :) I have a White's Coinmaster 2000/D with a big Hot Head coil, and recently bought a Bounty Hunter Quick Silver and a Garrett Master Hunter VLF/TR ADS Deepseeker w/ 5.5" coil, paying $150 for the pair.

I was hoping someone might have some tips on the Garrett which might be of use. I did manage to find the owner's manual online and printed it out to take along, in case I need to adjust the settings on it. I noticed last week when I went from the sunny, dry grass in the morning to the shady, wet grass the detector was all out of kilter. I'm guessing the same thing is going to happen on the beach. I'll be in the KDH area, and from what I've found, MDing is allowed from the high tide line to the ocean. Any help would be appreciated :)

Upvote 0

Jim Hemmingway

Jan 26, 2008
Canada
Detector(s) used
F-75, Infinium LS, MXT, GoldBug2, TDI Pro, 1280X Aquanaut, Garrett ProPointer
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hi Kiwini,

Didn't want to pass by your post. Still own but have not used this model in 20 years until tonite. Using the 4 1/2" co-axial "SuperSniper coil, it easily signaled over a six inch buried coin in the backyard in all metal, quite a surprise. First piece of silver/and silver coins were found with this model.