kellyco books

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
These books could list every square foot of ground and be fairly accurate in having a coin there. If that is your bag to look for places that hundreds of others have searched, go at it and have fun. If you knew of a place where a treasure or cashe was hidden, would you tell everyone where it was at before you recovered it?

OP
OP
R

rfmarshall

Greenie
Aug 17, 2008
No, I really wouldn't say that is my bag, I am brand new to metal detecting and I really don't know what my bag is yet. I live in Springfield, Illinois and there is very little in the area in the way of clubs to join so that I might learn from the pros. I have searched the internet high and low and have found very little on how to research places to MD. You always get the generic answer of go to parks, old schools, churches and look for places at the public library like old maps. I am going to the library tommorrow and try to research some places but I have no idea what I am doing. I would greatly appreciate any comments on how to research things such as old home sites, the basic answer of look at maps at the library really doesn't help me much, thanks in advance for any help.

Hemisteve

Feb 21, 2008
N. Nevada
Detector(s) used
Goldmaster V/Sat and MXT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I started treasure hunting late in the 90's and know I missed out on a lot. It gets harder and harder every year to find fresh ground, but it is out there.
What is there now was'nt there there a 100 years ago. Also, what isin't there now could have had something there a 100 years ago.