New hobby

maxmoney

Sep 15, 2008
Bloomington Illinois
Detector(s) used
Fisher Gemini-3, Ace 250, Cen-Tech pinpointer
Hello all, First post.

I am new to the hobby. I just won a ace 250 on ebay for $130(not a bad deal). This is my first and only metal detector. I have never done this hobby before. I can wait to get started here in Bloomington, Illinois. I have never personaly seen another metal detector 'out and about ' around these parts. The ace 250 was shipped today and I should be getting it in a few days. Anyway, Great to meet you all.....

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Upvote 0

pennyfarmer

Oct 12, 2006
West Haven, UT
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I wish you luck my friend.

Advice???

Don't get to antsy to purchase a new detector and "upgrade". Learn your machine, which comes mainly from experience. Get out and use the dad blasted thing. After you learn proper target recovery, hit up friends and family to get the chance to hunt old yards.

Good luck and welcome to T-Net.

HH

Tin Nugget

Bronze Member
Jan 11, 2007
Mesquite Texas
Detector(s) used
MXT F2
Welcome to a rewarding hobby. You may get a little frustrated until you get to know your detector but if you stick with it your ACE will not end up in the closet. HH

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Can not stress enough to learn your detector and proper recovery techniques. Use a screw driver to probe for the coin that the ACE pinpoints and try to get it out of the ground without digging a hole. If you need to dig a plug, set the dirt on a cloth so it all can go back in the hole and take all your trash with you. Ya don't wanny find it again.