homemade coil windings?

Sovereignelite

Bronze Member
Sep 30, 2012
Bloomington Indiana
Detector(s) used
E-TRAC & TESORO GOLDEN SABRE II---ETRAC COILS :SEF 10x12, SEF 6x8, X-5, Detech 8" concentric, ,--- TESORO COILS- 12x10 TOOLS: Lesche, Profind 25, Garrett Propointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You can find a LOT of used coils on ebay at half that or less. There are several videos on Youtube about making coils.
Anyone experiment w makin their own custom coils for the x-terra & in general? Anyone have how-to info to share here for us folks that can't afford these new coils @ 300. Bucks a shot..

OP
OP
O

oldnlazy

Oct 6, 2012
amazon.com maybe a good place to look??

Whole idea is not to purchase. I am a hobbyist looking into. Making my own custom windings and encapsulation to improve on the current $300 aftermarket large coils for the minelan exterra. Thx however..

woof!

Bronze Member
Dec 12, 2010
ciudadano del universo, residente de El Paso TX
Detector(s) used
BS detector
Primary Interest:
Other
Whole idea is not to purchase. I am a hobbyist looking into. Making my own custom windings and encapsulation to improve on the current $300 aftermarket large coils for the minelan exterra. Thx however..

What you are proposing is a way to spend huge amounts of time playing around with stuff that will produce many failures before you achieve success (if you do at all). And the right materials are gonna cost you. And if you don't know what the heck you're doing, you'll never get a usable searchcoil out of the project no matter how many times you try.

As a way to just DIY and save a few bucks, it's a really bad idea. Real manufacturers have already gone through the grief of figuring out how to make a searchcoil that works. Buy factory new; or, used, but only if you trust the seller.

--Dave J.

Ism

Jun 17, 2009
Michigan
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Vaquero
Whites TDI
Minelab Sovereign GT
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting