Starting out hunting - location advise?

ecnal

Greenie
Jan 31, 2010
Hey everyone. I'm just starting out hunting for meteorites/whatever else I find - only problem is I live in Plymouth, MA - right on the ocean.

The climate around here is very wet, which I guess isn't great for meteorites. Just wondering what the chances are of finding something of value on the beach/nearby?

Any advice would be great too! I'm getting my first metal detector in a few weeks - for now it's just my eyes and a magnet stick :)

OP
OP
E

ecnal

Greenie
Jan 31, 2010
I know I'm not going to get rich - that's fine. It's just a hobby :)

I've found countless things on the beach that are indeed old and interesting on the surface. Just wondering what could be buried.

OP
OP
E

ecnal

Greenie
Jan 31, 2010
And even if not meteorites, there's a bunch of stuff on beaches aswell, especially somewhere with so much history.

I'm using neodymium magnets from harddrives - my goal is to have a stick with a flat board on the end, maybe 3" by 8" or so, covered with magnets. Much larger surface area.

DigginThePast

Gold Member
Dec 31, 2008
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to T-Net ecnal.

Read around the forum. A lot of gold and silver jewelry as well as clad coinage are found on the beaches. Also, A LOT of garbage is found on the beaches. I'm quite sure you'll find more of these items than meteorites but you just never know..... :wink:

OP
OP
E

ecnal

Greenie
Jan 31, 2010
Hm. I've changed my design;

A walking stick with magnets epoxied to the bottom and around the lower edge. Epoxy should hold well enough.

extractor

Silver Member
Sep 27, 2007
Sal Sagev Adaven
Detector(s) used
E-TRAC,,,, SOVEREIGN GT,,,, GP 3500,,,,
GB PRO.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Spooky said:
Just wondering what the chances are of finding something of value

::)

You're not going to get rich.

I know that's what the TV show said, but it's not really like that.

It is a lot of hard work, and it is frustrating.