Metal meteorite?

MeteHunt

Jun 30, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello everyone. I'm new one on this forum. My main hobby is hunting of coins and relics with a metal detector and I've been doing this for last 12 years. And this is the very first time when I found something that looks like a meteorite, so would be very grateful for some help with identification.

Some facts about the rock:

- place where it was found - Eastern part of Belarus (Europe);
- was found with metal detector (dug out) at a depth of 30 centimeters (12 inch);
- metal detector detects it like nonferrous metal;
- it's very heavy (density maybe like lead), if necessary I can try to calculate;
- non-magnetic with ordinary magnet but becomes slightly magnetic with very powerful neodymium magnet;
- solid but can by filed with good rasp-file (look at the pictures)

Thanks in advance!

IMG_9954.JPG IMG_9953.JPG IMG_9952.JPG IMG_9951.JPG IMG_9950.JPG IMG_9956.JPG IMG_9964.JPG IMG_9962.JPG IMG_9961.JPG

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Have it examined by a geologist at your local university. :occasion14:

Rick K

Jan 3, 2007
Gold Canyon AZ
Detector(s) used
ML SDC-2300, Fisher F-75, XP Deus,
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Very heavy? Perhaps a tungsten fragment of armor piercing projectile from the Great Patriotic War. Conductivity of tungsten is about 28% of that of silver (or so the web said).

galenrog

Bronze Member
Feb 19, 2006
I am going to say no. A metallic meteorite will normally have enough ferrous metal for any common magnet to easily
stick. With no other evidence than what you have presented, including images, I am going to say slag.