watercolor

Silver Member
Feb 3, 2007
Arlington Heights, IL
Detector(s) used
V3i, MXT-All Pro and Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Any thoughts? (Dime is shown for relative size).

It “feels heavier” than an average rock it’s size and the surface appears to have been exposed to extreme heat. It also has no attraction to a rare-earth magnet.

I recovered this “rock” in a sandy, glaciated area of SE Wisconsin and after looking at it closely, I thought it may possibly be a meteorite (I’m not a meteorite expert) so I had a friend test its mineral composition on a Thermo Scientific Analyzer that he had access to and the mineral composition results indicated:

99.790% Fe (iron) and 0.209% Ir (iridium)

Thanks for looking!

IMG_3751.jpg IMG_3752.jpg

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hmmm.. If I were you, I would seek out my local Geology professor at your nearest college/university, and send him/her high quality close-ups, the exact weight and measurements, and where it was found. DO NOT cut a "window" to see the interior - DO NOT do anything to it.

I personally do NOT think it is a meteorite, but No One on this or any forum knows for sure. Have it examined and good luck!:skullflag:

DizzyDigger

Gold Member
Dec 9, 2012
Concrete, WA
Detector(s) used
Nokta FoRs Gold, a Gold Cube, 2 Keene Sluices and Lord only knows how many pans....not to mention a load of other gear my wife still doesn't know about!
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Watercolor..you say the mineral composition tests showed that it
was 99.790% Iron, but a magnet is not attracted to it?

Help me out here...:icon_scratch:

It's most definitely an interesting item, and I agree with