nach0s

Tenderfoot
Jun 9, 2010
New England
Detector(s) used
White's XLT
From White's to Minelab... couple questions for veteran Minelab users

Hi All,

I've been using a White's XLT for several years, had lots of good luck with it. However I recently decided to upgrade to something newer, so I went for a Minelab SE.

I know its going to take some time getting used to, I know the White's quite well, and it took time.

However, the following things have me a bit puzzled, would appreciate your feedback.

1. I am having trouble telling the difference between say a moden US quarter (say 70's) and a silver quarter (say 50's).
They both seem to come up with FER 00-01 and COND 29-30 signals.

On the White's, the silver quarter would give me higher VDI numbers (and a higher tone). Do I need to do some adjusting on my end?

2. Also, when pinpointing, if you put the detector down and start to dig, the pinpoint tone can really bore into the ears (with the detector just sitting on the ground). I seem to have to switch it off, put the detector down, then flip pinpoint mode back every time I want to check my hole.

Has anyone else noticed this?

These are just some of my initial comments, wondering what y'all think.

Cheers
Nach0s

Captn SE

Silver Member
Apr 1, 2007
Southern CA
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE; X-1 Target Probe; Pro Coil, 6x8 SEF, Coiltek Platypus Elliptical, Sunray X8, Expl. 1050 coils
Re: From White's to Minelab... couple questions for veteran Minelab users

Funny. A very similar question about quarter sounds was just asked on another forum.