My impressions of the CTX 3030 thus far

pulltabpirate

Greenie
Dec 18, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have been using an E-trac for about two years and loved that machine. Of course, my ears perked up when I heard about the release of minelabs next phenom in the CTX 3030. My first hunt with it was a short one at two locations I had gone over several times with my E-trac. Of course, the first thing I noticed was the weight and fearing how long I'd be able to swing the thing. Turns out I was able to make it through 3 hours of hunting without having to break due to arm fatigue. More on that later. I got a solid 12-42 and dug it and got a wheat cent. It came through clear and made me wonder how I missed it before. It was deep, like 7-8 inches deep, but the signal was clear and strong. The next target rang 12-43 and again I anticipated a wheat cent and was suprised when I pulled out a silver Rosie. This was a bit disappointing in the sense that I was used to the e-trac singing on silver despite the numbers. It sounded like a wheat penny along with the numbers being in that range. I ended up digging a few more wheats and ended that hunt.