Detector(s) used
Garrett ATPro- 8.5x11, 5x8, CORS Fotune 5.5x9.5
Tesoro Silver microMax- 8 donut, 8x11 RSD, 3x18 Cleansweep
Minelab Excalibur ll- 10" Tornado
Minelab CTX 3030
Minelab Xterra 305
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello, I'm brand new to detecting and just bought a lightly used 705 with the standard coil. Any tips, suggestions for starting up would be greatly appreciated. Also, the unit came with an instruction manual that says it is for a 305 & 505, but doesn't mention 705. Is there another manual for the 705? Thanks, Mike
Welcome aboard and to the most addictive hobby known to man! You can view/print the 705's instruction manual on Minelabs website. Longhair seems to be the most knowledgeable member on the Xterra line, and will be the one to help you out. Good luck and HH!

Last edited:

Longhair

May 26, 2012
Backside Of Nowhere In Mid-Michigan
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2,
Fisher 1280X,
MineLab Xterra 705,
MineLab Explorer SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Beyond the manual which is readily available on Minelab's site, I highly recommend that while you're there you sign up. It's free and obligates you to nothing.
Then go to the "MEMBERS" area and download Randy Horton's FREE e-book "Understanding Your Xterra". Then read the e-book......twice. And go back to it after each of your next several hunts.
And another thing that you can do while at the Minelab site, is go to the "Treasure Talk" section, and find the four part blog article that Randy wrote called "Which Xterra Coil Is Best For Me?"

After you do all of that, if you have more questions, by all means ask away.

OP
OP
A

atexaspete

Greenie
Oct 16, 2013
VA
Detector(s) used
EXCAL II, ML X-Terra 705, Garrett Pro-pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Thanks for the replies. I'm off to the Minelab site.

Mike

SavageHunter

May 29, 2013
Kansas
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-Trac, Minelab Xterra 705, Garrett AT Pro, Bounty Hunter Tracker IV, Fisher F2
Primary Interest: