Missing targets using CTX 3030

jbc465

Sep 7, 2013
I have noticed that while detecting on the beach in saltwater mode. I will look down at my screen to see that I had a low tone mark 12-4 or a quarter 12-46 but didn't hear the beep from the detector. I was also hunting one day with a friend who asked me what I thought his target was? As I ran the detector over the area I would get a mark on the screen showing the target 12" deep, but no tone. I have been using beach mode. And have turned my volume gain up from factory settings. I have probably been missing the gold.:icon_scratch:
Any suggestions. Thanks John

AceD3

Tenderfoot
Nov 2, 2014
Subscribed. I've just swapped my Etrac for a CTX so would be interested to hear the solutions to this.
Don't suppose you thought to try without any discrimination (open screen)?
Btw: I'm a newbie so have no idea what I'm talking about ;-)

Jackalope

Jun 27, 2009
Oahu, HI
Detector(s) used
White's, Garrett, Minelab
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Did you have headphones on? I've had my CTX lose the external port to the headphones (silence) and then kick back in after several minutes. The screen will still be working. Restarting the CTX doesn't matter - silence, until the audio returns (usually with a loud overshoot and then back to threshold). I've tried submerging the coil, control box, and GG headphones and unplugging and replugging the audio plug. It seems that when I dunk the headphones, they kick back on (but it may be a coincidence). I'm probably the only one experiencing this problem.

The other thing that happens is iron in the soil nulls the threshold - the audio goes dead - but the screen keeps on kicking. The null can be repeating at intervals in highly mineralized soil - turning off the audio every 30-45 seconds and lasting for 20-30 seconds, or so. During the null you can lay the coil on a metal scoop and not get any response, then the audio kicks back on suddenly. Rather irritating.