Multi frequency question

rickbrk

Jan 2, 2013
Floresville TX.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I've been detecting for over 20 years but live paycheck to paycheck so never had a higher end detector. I have a tesoro silver umax now, which is a great little unit. It has taken 5 years but have saved up around $750 and would like a an all around and waterproof unit. Waterproof to open new search areas. I have my eye on the new Equinox 600 and the Whites mx sport. Sorry but for me the At pro is not a choice. My question is, is multi frequency really such a great thing? I have found tiny things and deep things with other units and multi still seems to call gold and nickels pull tabs.. I'm equally excited about both units just trying to learn The real difference in multi. I mostly coin / jewlery and relic hunt .

Roundness

Apr 27, 2013
La Vergne, TN
Detector(s) used
Garrett Pinpointer II, Nokta Makro Legend
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Looks like the jury is still out on the Equinox from what I am reading and seeing. You might give it a little time to see what happens with it before you buy. As for the White's, it's been out for a while now and seems like everyone that has it is very satisfied. I run a White's V3i in multifrequency most of the time. I think the main difference is the ability to discriminate targets a little better than with a single frequency machine. I have found some really small stuff really deep also. One instance is a silver earing stud at 6" below square nails. I couldn't believe it. Most detectors wouldn't have even seen it. In the end most machines in that price range are going to give you a lot of bang for your buck. It all comes down to what you want personally. Me, I am a White's fan through and through. I have an AT Max and use it a lot, but when I am really serious about a spot I always go back to the V3i. Good Luck, even though I probably didn't help much.

OP
OP
R

rickbrk

Jan 2, 2013
Floresville TX.
Primary Interest: