Old Large cents and Very Old Silver Pocket Watch Case!!!

vthepresident

Dec 30, 2007
Charlottesville, Virginia
Detector(s) used
White's DFX, White's Prism II, Tesoro Sand Shark
I have been away from posting for awhile, since I have been away from treasure hunting. I am in my third year of pharmacy school, and there just hasn't been much time to get out, so my DFX has just been sitting in the corner. I live in Birmingham, AL, where there are a shortage of "old" locations to hunt, so a visit to my wife's family in Virginia this weekend held lots of promise. My father in law always scouts out some good old spots for us to hunt when we visit, so I was really looking forward to it. This time it was a farm that has been in one family since the early 1800s, and was built some time in the 18th century. We were assured that it had never been hunted as well, so all the signs were there for a great day of metal detecting. At this point, I have yet to break into the 1800s with metal detected coins, so this was my one and only goal. I wasn't picky, I just wanted something with an "18" in the front of the date.

I was not disappointed.
largecentobv.jpg

largecentreverse.jpg

The first LC has no date, but the head shape is of the later style (post 1830s) and it is holed. The second one just barely has a visible date (1818), so it is an old one! I wasn't expecting that!

Fortune favored me yet again with another 1800s coin, an 1860 Indian Head Penny!
indians.jpg

I found this one right before we had to leave for the day. I also came up with the nice bright green 1903 IH and two wheats.

medalanddogtag.jpg

medalreverse.jpg

I also found this cool Daughters of Confederate Veterans "Southern Cross of Honor" medal.
It was near this 1920 dog tag that was for a dog the owner actually remembered.