gleaner1

Silver Member
Feb 1, 2009
Gateway to the 1000 Islands
Detector(s) used
Sometime(s)
Primary Interest:
Other
found in the crotch at the base of an old pine tree in my favorite park in an old grove with hundreds of old pine trees, half buried in soil, inches of rotting pine needles covering the top, gave overload signal, good signal with coil 15" off ground. I think its a Sino-Tibetan bronze, 9.25" tall, no markings at all, no damage which is remarkable because it has small pieces which can easily break off. I cant imagine its value. I am not good at prepping pics for email so I only have one.

Attachments

• DSC01715(1).JPG
    DSC01715(1).JPG
    95.5 KB · Views: 1,098
Upvote 0

godisnum1

Silver Member
May 7, 2005
Saint Petersburg, FL
Detector(s) used
Nokta Legend Pro Pack, Nokta Legend WHP w/ LG24 coil, Nokta Pulse Dive Pinpointer, White's IDX Pro (x2), Vibraprobe 570
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Here ya' go... :thumbsup:
Great find!
It's exactly like the huge stone statue in Laura Croft's, Tomb Raider.

Bran <><

Attachments

• DSC01715(1).JPG
    DSC01715(1).JPG
    97.2 KB · Views: 1,040

Tank69

Silver Member
May 5, 2009
Yuma Az
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Eldorado , Fisher Gold Bug 2 , Whites MXT , Keen Dry Washer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
ok now thats a cool find :icon_thumright: :icon_thumleft:

Mr. Green

Greenie
Mar 20, 2009
Hi, great find. It's a buddhist or Hindu statue. Manufactured in India, Nepal, Tibet or Bhutan. Could be brand new, since many "brand new" statues look really old. It depends on the process of manufacture and grade of the staute. There are however statues like this that are 200-300 years old. If you like I could look into it...

PS
If it's new it wouldn't cost more than 15$. If it's old however, it could very well be quite expensive. If that is the case, then you're in for a deal because there's a lucrative market for such artifacts.

OP
OP
gleaner1

gleaner1

Silver Member
Feb 1, 2009
Detector(s) used