1857 Half Dime!

joncooper1986

Jul 31, 2014
Westhampton, MA
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 4.0 9" coil, 11" coil, WS4 w/ Detecting Doodads headphones, MI-6 pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I have had LOTS of luck on the property I grew up on...Many colonial coppers and dozens of other interesting finds. THIS is my new favorite. I have been detecting for about 5 years and this find was the one that made me think I should finally make a profile and join the forum.

Behold: My proud 1857 Half Dime. Looked like this with nothing more than a few seconds under the kitchen faucet.
:)

Attachments

• IMGP4733.JPG
    IMGP4733.JPG
    572.2 KB · Views: 191
  • IMGP4736.JPG
    IMGP4736.JPG
    877.4 KB · Views: 221
Upvote 3

NowandThenTreasures

Jul 23, 2014
Wisconsin
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT PRO, Minelab Equinox 800, Garrett Ace 350, Garrett Pro-Pointer AT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Great find! That half dime looks to be in great condition! Are the other coins you found there in great shape as well? Congrats!

OP
OP
joncooper1986

joncooper1986

Jul 31, 2014
Westhampton, MA
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 4.0 9" coil, 11" coil, WS4 w/ Detecting Doodads headphones, MI-6 pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Great find! That half dime looks to be in great condition! Are the other coins you found there in great shape as well? Congrats!

I wish! after 200 years in the ground copper doesnt come out so happy. I have a 1787 Fugio cent that I found in the same area but it is in really rough shape. If it looked like silver does after so many years I would be a rich man. Needless to say, I am hoping to find a lot more silver now that I know that it will look just as good as the day it was dropped!

leviathanrick

Mar 31, 2013
Pa
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Ace 350
AT Pro
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Great find in awesome condition. Welcome to Treasure Net.

Goldiver

Bronze Member
Sep 15, 2006
Fremont, Ohio
Detector(s) used