Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree40Likes

Thread: Is your best find so good you wont post it?

« Prev Thread | Next Thread »
    am
    Apr 2015
    136 times
    Metal Detecting

Is your best find so good you won't post it?

Maybe I am parinoid...... Maybe I am afraid of theft situations.... Maybe I am afraid of someone trying to claim my find.... Maybe I am afraid of taxes, yes taxes. Am I the only one who would not post their best find because of being afraid of the repercussions? I am not a professional treasure seeker so my best of best finds is not on the books so to speak. I think of the people in California that found the 12 million in buried gold eagles. They got a lot of crap they had to deal with in law suits. It seems to me that once something is found everyone wants a part of it. My question is this... At what dollar value would you keep it a secret? What would it take for you to stop and realize you put yourself at risk from others, either physically or emotionally/both, when you post something of larger value. A ring with stones is nice and note worthy, an old relic is great. Heck even an old gold coin or a silver stash is heart thumping, but when is it you stop and wont tell anyone of your find?

(LEGAL: This post in no way implies that the postee/postors have made any discovery/find that would warrant taxes, State/Federal, nor warrant any search and seizes. This post is only for thought provoking conversation only. To all thievies, rats, Government agencies or any "leech" type person "Pissoff"
    Last edited by jasonh939; Dec 09, 2015 at 02:33 PM. Reason: miss spelling...

us
    Detector Collector

May 2015
    Madison, MS
    Fisher F75SE, F44, F2 and CZ-20. Minelab E-TRAC and Go-Find 60. Tesoro Tejon. BH Quick Silver.
    2206 times
    I mainly coin shoot, but I also enjoy relic hunting and shallow ocean hunting.