CanSlawKing

May 9, 2016
Longmont, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
IMG_1802.JPG IMG_1800.JPG

Found my first silver the other day in my yard!

I am brand new to detecting and this is certainly my best find. My house is 99 year old and the yard is completely full of trash. Pretty much every square yard(of nearly an acre) contains iron. I replaced the concentric coil on my Ace 250 with a DD (maybe just of just saved that money to put towards an AT PRO or something) and I have been having much more success.
It seems that most people say to dig every single target when you are still learning. After maybe 8 total hours of working my yard and digging up nothing but nails, bits of wire, pulltabs, and other various trash, I decided to be just a bit more selective. With the DD coil, I can work between the iron and really pinpoint my targets (I don't even use the Ace 250's pinpoint mode anymore).

Hoping to find a lot more like this little beauty!

Upvote 9

Steve in PA

Gold Member
Jul 5, 2010
Pittsburgh, PA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75, XP Deus, Equinox 600, Fisher 1270
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Congrats on your first silver. I'm sure there is more in that yard and the other yards nearby.

BigWaveDave

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2013
Mountain Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, AT Max, Minelab
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Good job breaking your silver cherry... Now put it down, and go find more!:thumbsup:

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Congrats on pulling the Merc. :occasion14: When I started back in 2014, I discriminated way too much. Now I discriminate out 1 thru 16 on my F75 (Iron is 1 thru 19 on my detector). No sense in hearing all the iron. I'm mainly a coin shooter that enjoys a cool relic.