Butch Cassidy wanted poster.

Mitchell001

Tenderfoot
Jul 5, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi I’m new, and I had recently found this Butch Cassidy wanted poster. I was wondering if it was real? Let me know what you think. image.jpg

Last edited:
Upvote 1

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
tn_metal_detector.gif
Always love finding other similar
tn_02.gif
member finds...

tn_metal_detector.gif
Read this part of the thread...

Cool find! :thumbsup:

It looks like the right paper. The condition isn't very good with the tobacco staining but these things are pretty rare. Two things set off little questions in my mind - the border at the bottom seems extra long and the type on the left bottom curved down slightly on the originals I've seen. Your pictures are pretty small and I'm only knowledgeable because I've seen several at auction, I'm not an expert. Compare your poster to this known original in the Wyoming State University collection.

My gut instinct says you probably have the real thing. If so I'd guess with the current condition at a good auction house on the right day you might get $6,000 - $10,000?

If it was mine I'd run it by Jemison Beshear, he used to work with Greg Martin and with Bonhams and Butterfields in the San Francisco house. He really knows this stuff better than you or I and he's got the connections to find a buyer for you.

OP
OP
M

Mitchell001

Tenderfoot
Jul 5, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What was the paper on your poster like? What did it feel like?

GaRebel1861

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2011
South Carolina
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I’ve seen a few of them in antique shops over the years which makes me think they are either common or more likely reproductions. However, there may very well be original ones in the mix.

haility

May 30, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting