new to metal detecting ..in myrtle beach

nbmd21

Jan 17, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
alright so im new to metal detecting and it sounds fun..but i dont have a metal detector yet.
im close to the beach in myrtle beach and thats probably where im going to do most of my hunting
i was curious to know if anyone had suggestions on which metal detector to get ...im a little strapped for cash
and can only afford 22o ish at the most any suggestions on a detector that id be able to use on the beach/dry land elsewhere,
and possibly in an inch or two of surf? thanks!! i was looking at the bounty hunter sharpshooter II model on amazon and it didnt say
whether or not it was vfi or pi as ive read the vfi is baad for salt water ...so any clues?

Last edited:

The Boots

Oct 27, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome, I can't really help you on a detector. I have only used a DFX. I might suggest going in the metal detector brands forum and read lots of posts. I am sure someone will come along soon with some great advice for you. Once you get started you will be hooked.

ThTx

Dec 19, 2006
Combine
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Master Hunter CX Plus, Teknetics G2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
nbmd21, see response to your other post.

THTx

Flex68

Dec 10, 2013
SW Virginia
Detector(s) used
Currently researching to buy
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Welcome!
Good luck hunting on the Grand Strand, esp. in Myrtle Beach. That place is kept hot with swingers!

The locals are out hunting all hours of the day and night... got up early one morning last year, and counted six just in front of the motel I was staying in.
Lights on the beach all through the night, between shell and tooth hunters, and detectorists.
With that kind of activity, the quality of detector you purchase will likely be even more important, and I am not sure that you'll really be offering yourself a respectable chance with a $200 detector

River Rat

Super Moderator