Newbie from Ohio. Metal Detector advice.

Adventure-Seeker

Tenderfoot
Jul 4, 2015
Ohio
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So I've wanted to do metal detecting since I was a kid. Now I have the time and money to actually do it. Pretty excited. However I'm still a little unsure of what metal detector I should get. I've been seriously considering buying the AT Pro. It seems to be a good all around unit and doesn't cost a fortune and I like that I can use it in the water if needed. However I know there are lots of people on here with tons of experience with these and other machines. I will eventually work my way up to better equipment but for now I don't want to spend thousands especially since I'm just starting out. Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks guys. Glad to be part of a group with like minded people.

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
metal_detector.gif
Welcome Aboard! Take a look at Sub-Forums: Ohio for information (i.e., clubs, etc.) directly related to your state.

DirtWarrior

Bronze Member
Jul 15, 2014
Virginia
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Gold
Garrett AT Pro
Vulcan 360 Pin Pointer
Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Wel-come aboard ... :thumbsup:

TheElementOfSand

Jul 19, 2012
Fort Wayne
Detector(s) used
Whites Spectrum XLT E-series, Whites Beachhunter, Garrett Ace350, Garret 76'-77'Fortune Hunter, Cen-tech Pinpointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The at pro is an amazing machine, there's a ton of people who hunt with nothing else.

pgfhgs

Dec 23, 2014
Sedona AZ
Detector(s) used
Whites V3i, AT Pro, Ace 250, Tesoro, Teknetics, Bounty Hunter EQ 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting