New member with mystery buffalo nickel

Caddywompas

Nov 12, 2016
CA
Detector(s) used
None
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello all. I am a big time rookie when it comes to the value of old coins. Hope you can help me here.

My Dad recently passed away. He was an 80 year old retired Army Lt Col. He had a very old trunk with many coins including what looks to be a 1920 Buffalo nickel. It appears to be all copper. I can't seem to find any information. Even local coin dealers don't seem to know about it. How can I find out how rare and if this is really a copper 1920 buffalo nickel?

Forgot to mention it was in a velvet bag with other Buffalo nickels in the regular bright nickel color and appears to be the same size in all dimensions.

008.JPG

009.JPG

014.JPG

kingskid1611

Gold Member
Feb 23, 2015
Oklahoma
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Never seen a copper one but have seen some really exposed to the elements or chemicals that looks coppery. Hopefully an expert on here can help a little better than I. Welcome to the party and Good Luck

OP
OP
C

Caddywompas

Nov 12, 2016
CA
Detector(s) used
None
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thank you. I am not sure how to tell if it is copper or tarnished. My Dad probably had for 50 years in a trunk and knowing him he didn't did it out of the ground. I'm hoping anyway.

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
tn_md.gif
1st - Welcome Aboard! You didn't list your state (or country) in your profile. So, you might consider jumping over to Sub-Forums: Select Your Area.... and selecting location information (i.e., clubs, hunts, finds, legends, maps, etc.) directly related to your state (or country).
metal_detector.gif
2nd - Sorry to hear about your Dad.
coin_collection.gif