GB Newbie

Jun 25, 2017
Green Bay, WI
Detector(s) used
GC 1020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello,

Im new to treasurenet and new to metal detecting in the Green Bay/ De Pere WI area. Recently I bought a GC 1020 as my first metal detector. Still trying to find the right configurations in order to find the best treasures. Dont know where to set my sensitivity to so I dont pick up false readings & other things i dont want to find. Also, is it easier to set my metal detector to " All metal" or " Disc/Notch" in order to pick up the most treasures? Right now i'm getting practice in my yard before i go to the city parks, but all i seem to be getting hits on is old nails, screws, pieces of metal, metalic rocks, or old metal fence posts. I really would like to start finding the good stuff besides all this stuff.
Any and all help would be appreciated.
Thanks alot.

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
tn_md.gif
Welcome Aboard! Take a look at Sub-Forums: Wisconsin for information (i.e., clubs, etc.) directly related to your state.

digging440yrs

Gold Member
Dec 5, 2012
UPSTATE NEW YORK
Detector(s) used
1970 COMPASS-
WHITES SILVER EAGLE-
WHITES DFX, 4X6DD COIL, 6X8DD COIL, 950 COIL, 10X12SEF COIL-
GARRETT PRO POINTER AT, GARRETT AT PRO , MINELAB EXPLORER SE with 8.5x12.5 Cors coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome aboard :icon_thumright:

Oct 5, 2014
Massachusetts
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett: AT Pro, AT Gold & Infinium; Minelab: Explorer SE, II; Simplex; Tesoro: Tejon & Outlaw; White's: V3i
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Welcome to the forum from Massachusetts! :occasion14:

RustyGold

Gold Member
Aug 16, 2013
Southern California
Detector(s) used
XP Deus I & II
Xterra Pro
Primary Interest:
Other
Welcome to TNet! Try doing some air tests with the different targets to get acquainted with their sound.
Best of luck!

dsdigger

Bronze Member