New to any Detecting Forum with many good finds to discuss

Eastender

Mar 30, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi everyone I look forward to sharing stories and learning from new friends. I started serious metal detecting last August although I have dabbled twice in my youth. I'm also a graduate level trained archaeologist but currently non-practicing, started avocationally as an arrowhead picker in the upstate NY cornfields. I only mention this because I am an avid student of history and love the excitement of detecting and look forward to seeing what others are finding. I live in an area rich in history. The first European colonists arrived around 1650. Many historical layers here but most interested in the colonial period. I would say my best find is a 1798 US Draped Bust in very good condition (I also have an 1800 and 1801). But out of the gate the most perplexing things I have found are coin-like objects. I am scanning remote forests relatively free of metallic debris. Some bullets and beer cans yes, but no major developments. And these early colonists were agrarian Puritans living austere lives leaving little material culture behind. In this photo I found the red intaglio cameo with gold surround. Do you think it is generic jewelry like a watch fob or someone's actual wax seal? Someone who knows styles might be able to recognize the hat. It was an isolate with nothing within 50 yards. The coin-like object was found a couple of hundred yards away in the forest floor 4+ inches deep. Fairly close to it I found a rectangular brass shoe buckle which matches up to 1730's on a chart. The coin-like object is dense and gave my White's Spectra 3Vi a VDI of 64, firmly in the copper range but not resembling copper at all. It is definitely not lead. And here's the kicker- it weighs exactly one troy ounce. Thanks in advance. colcoin2.jpg colfinds9.jpg

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting