eeWill

Tenderfoot
Oct 5, 2020
Mississippi
Detector(s) used
Whites Coinmaster 2900/D Trooper - and looking to upgrade
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm just getting into the hobby and still researching detectors! I currently have an old Whites Coinmaster 2900/D Trooper, but I think it's time for an upgrade.

Would love to get advice from anyone willing to give as far as site research and detector recommendations. I'm currently leaning towards either a Garrett AT PRO, or maybe the MAX depending on budget constraints.

Anyway, hello everyone!

William

dts52

Bronze Member
Jun 20, 2015
NW CT
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Equinox800 / AT Pro / AT Gold / Makro Racer
Vibra-probe / TRX pp
Primary Interest:
Other
Welcome from Connecticut!
My personal opinion is to go for the AT Pro. This machine has been tried and tested. The only downside is that it HATES salt water (if that’s even a concern for you). Good luck!
HH
dts

OP
OP
E

eeWill

Tenderfoot
Oct 5, 2020
Mississippi
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks! Good to know about the AT Pro. I'll have to keep that in mind. Do you know if the AT Max has the same aversion to saltwater? I know from research that a multi-frequency detector is really the way to go, but they are all looking out of my budget range at the moment. Most of my detecting will be done on land, but I do make a beach trip once a year and stay for a week. It would be nice to hunt the beach while I'm there.

RustyGold

Gold Member
Aug 16, 2013
Southern California
Detector(s) used
XP Deus I & II
Xterra Pro
Primary Interest:
Other
Welcome to TreasureNet Will. Maybe research the Minelab Equinox 600 for a better beach detector. Good luck On the hunt and the purchase of a new detector.

OP
OP
E

eeWill

Tenderfoot
Oct 5, 2020
Mississippi
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
RustyGold, Will do! Does the 600 perform well on land too?

RustyGold

Gold Member
Aug 16, 2013
Southern California