Jan 7, 2017
Tucson, AZ
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Silver uMax, Garrett Pro-Pointer AT
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hey guys,

I am new to the world of metal detecting. I am looking to buy either the Relic or Gold+, but I cannot seem to settle on one. I want a good general purpose detector.

I live in southern AZ, and will probably want to do a little bit of prospecting, but not too much probably as I guess the best places for that are central and northern AZ.

I know they both are 19kHz. They both come with 2 coils. I like that the Relic has more modes/features. The biggest feature on the Relic that has my attention is the depth finder has an inches setting. The Gold+ can only give depth in cm which would probably drive me nuts.

I have read just about everything I can find on both units. Does anyone with experience on both units have any advice? I hope to primarily detect in the mountains on hiking trails, ghost towns, and random places, but I wouldn't mind finding some gold. ;)

Thanks in advance for the help!

Icewing

Silver Member
Jan 5, 2016
NW Arkanslaw
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 900 / Garrett PropointerAT.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I don't know anything about either one, but I know I can press one button on my Minelab X-terra 705 and switch it from a coin and relic hunter to a gold prospecting machine. So you might want to look into that.
I just wish I had somewhere to use the prospecting mode.

Tom Slick

Jul 21, 2012
Mesa AZ
Detector(s) used
XP Deus & Deus II, Makro Multi Kruzer, White's DFX w/18" Arrow Coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I think you'd be better off with the Fors Core or Relic (not the Gold). For the type of detecting you're interested in, You may want to look at the Makro Racer 2. Makro is the brother company to the Notka detectors. Myself and a few other local club members have been using the Racers here in Arizona and it performs extremely well in the type detecting you've mentioned.