db-uk

Jul 31, 2017
Hartlepool
Detector(s) used
Makro Racer 2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all

I bought my Racer 2 about 2 weeks ago now to upgrade my beginner's Whites Treasure Master detector.
I would say I am a relative newbie at the hobby as I have only been doing it for 9 months but feel I outgrew the Whites in this time and wanted something much better and after looking around I settled on the Racer 2 and I am glad that I did :)
The Racer 2 is definately a coin magnet and I am now re-detecting the areas that I had previously detected with the Whites and am finding many new signals that were just not there before.

Anyway, I went out the other day on a large pasture field that I have alrerady covered with the whites for what I planned a few hours but ended up a total of 8 hours and apart from getting wet twice with what the weather forecasters call some summer showers (i.e heavy rain) I really enjoyed the day.

I only detected part of the field as I was trying to be methodical and detect it in strips so I did not miss anything and apart from the usual junk I did find some interesting stuff.

Finds 1 photo.
1. A 2.5 inch corroded iron disc with a central hole. It is about 1 cm thick and have not the foggiest what it was...I would like to think it is something ancient :)
2. A rather nice zippo lighter, the lid was found separately a few feet away. It is engraved, one side says Stephen and the other Sebastian.
3. A small oval 1.75 inch at first thought 'lid' but I'm not so sure. There are no markings.
4. Looks like a lead rivet type of thing..definitely look like it has been hammered into something.
5. This looks like part of a large spoon, not sure what it's made of, its very rustic.
6. Probably the most interesting thing in the photo, a lead dog about 2.5 inches across.
7. A chain link made from 3 links, each link near 3 inches across. I just thought it was an interesting shape, reminds me of a Rubic puzzle :)