LiPo batteries in Nokta machines

The_Griffyn

Jan 5, 2010
Alaska
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI 2500, Fisher Gold Bug 2, Minelab SDC 2300, Minelab GM 1000
Curious to your thoughts on the LiPo batteries contained within the Nokta machines. They (Lithium Polymer batteries) are a wild breed in many formats and within the RC community tales of exploding fire batteries are not uncommon. They have special regulations regarding transport/shipment (especially within aircraft) and I've read they can be extremely fickle in regards to charging/storage. I'm only looking for input on the batteries themselves. The product line is amazing and what you get for the price is impressive (SIMPLEX!) and not in question.

Hope everyone is well!

-the griffyn

Germanrazor

Jan 7, 2021
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Simplex+,
Tesoro Compadre
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have a Simplex and while I cannot comment on any issues with the LiPo on it I have extensive experience with them on my agencies UAS fleet. They are fickle beast and we have had issues with a certain model and with consultation with other similar agencies the premature failure of these and abnormal swelling of the casings. The manufacturer of our systems stated to us a LiPo should never be stored for even short periods at 100% capability but rather 30%.

I have issue with that due to our needing the systems readily available without ground time in upwards to one hour after arrival to a scene to charge to 100% for use.

As to premature failure in the like of fire or spontaneous explosions, we have not experienced yet.

Capnstern

Tenderfoot
Dec 5, 2020
Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro simplex
Whites Eagle 2
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting