Gold Member
Mar 6, 2014
17th century
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030 & XP Deus
Primary Interest:
Other
Between all the glory finds is hard work and learning. This is my first attempt at sifting a known pit so it's A lot of uphill work. Here's the spot with the marker I left two months ago!
ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1471649516.132808.jpg
The story behind this is about two months ago I dug about a dozen buttons and a seated quarter. Lots of iron and some pontiled bottles in some dug dirt. So I returned with some advise from Brad and Company.

All the button signals were masked, as well as much of the other non-ferrous finds.
ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1471649644.912972.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1471649656.252359.jpg
I found a lot of hand blown glass and clam shells. On Eastern Long Island as well as many other places, shellfish was a major (fresh) food source of colonists. One of the earlier items I was very excited to dig was the mold poured spoon handle made of pewter. ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1471649720.536881.jpg

Found a good amount of iron too. A great early hand wrought axe head, some buckles, and lots of nails. ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1471649778.573415.jpg

They can't all be winners but it was great getting out. I'll continue to dig the pit but I suspect it was disturbed many years ago when the house was razed. Enjoy

Last edited:

OutdoorAdv

Bronze Member
Apr 16, 2013
East Coast - USA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
XP Deus,
GPX 4500,
Equinox 800,
AT Max
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Awesome job man! That's a very promising assortment of artifacts. What were the dimensions of the area you excavated and how deep did it go before the iron was out?