OP
ink-a-alot

ink-a-alot

Dec 14, 2008
East Texas
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
MEinWV said:
Those are cool! I bet a lot of us pass by this kind of artifact without even noticing them.

Nice collection!

HH
I turn over every rock i see, just to see if it has sign of anything done to it...

DES OK

Nov 12, 2006
The Great Plains
Detector(s) used
GTAX550 - ACE250 -TEJON
Please excuse my ignorance, but all I see are rocks, can you explain what signs I should look for, to know otherwise... :icon_scratch:

I'm not trying to be a smarta$$, I'm an artifact newbie just trying to figure things out... 8)

Dan

gilmerman

Dec 31, 2006
Central South East
Congratulations; I cannot find these kind of artifacts where I live. I know that they were needed by the indians here but just havent come across a single one. I find many arrowheads and pottery sherds but never a manno or grinding stone. I come across definet hearth areas in the fields here, but as the indians lived in huts partially under the ground I would think grains and corn would be ground on the surface. I'll just keep looking.

Tnmountains

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 27, 2009
South East Tennessee on Ga, Ala line
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Conquistador freq shift
Fisher F75
Garrett AT-Pro
Garet carrot
Neodymium magnets
5' Probe
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Nice collection. Are your morters cupped on both sides? Great photos Inks ! :thumbsup:

OP
OP
ink-a-alot

ink-a-alot

Dec 14, 2008
East Texas
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
TnMountains said:
Nice collection. Are your morters cupped on both sides? Great photos Inks ! :thumbsup:
some have a dish on the other side and some have nuting holes on the back of them..

Tnmountains

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 27, 2009
South East Tennessee on Ga, Ala line
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Conquistador freq shift
Fisher F75
Garrett AT-Pro
Garet carrot
Neodymium magnets
5' Probe
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting