Educate me on where to look.

archer66

May 3, 2009
Northeast Missouri
I am a newbie when it comes to artifact hunting. I have found a good number of points etc over the last year, every one of them in creeks. The main reason is that creeks are all that I have to hunt. Hopefully I will be getting permission to hunt the neighboring properties which are crop fields. Please look at the pic below and give me pointers if you don't mind. The big block of timber in the pic is my place. I have found points in every creek that I have marked with a red dot. The blue dots in the fields to the east are fields where my dad found points when he was a kid back in the 1950's. There are two burial mounds on the farm...one of which I have marked in the photo. From your experiences, considering topography, where would the most likely camp sites have been located? Where would you begin your search. Keep in mind that the open fields on our place are in hay or pasture so I won't have much success there, but do you see any likely spots in the crop fields? I have some ideas but was hoping you "experts" could give me your thoughts to help me narrow down my search.
topo.jpg

Upvote 0

Tnmountains

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 27, 2009
South East Tennessee on Ga, Ala line
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Conquistador freq shift
Fisher F75
Garrett AT-Pro
Garet carrot
Neodymium magnets
5' Probe
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Fun project. I cant write on your map trying to figure it out on this mac.

OP
OP
archer66

archer66

May 3, 2009
Northeast Missouri
TnMountains said:
Fun project. I cant write on your map trying to figure it out on this mac.

I don't know anything about Mac computers, but if you have paint you can open the photo in paint and edit.....

Th3rty7

Silver Member
Jan 24, 2009
»»--------->
I'm trying to get a sense of scale here, are those small round bodies of water ponds, or springs? Any idea what the area of land contained in one of the large squares?