Rookie

CaptFrank2001

May 25, 2014
Rutherfordton, NC
Detector(s) used
My eyes.
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
About 2 weeks ago I found one very nice projectile point on my property (5 acres). Since then I have found 100+ pieces. Most are what appear to me to be preforms or maybe the correct term is blanks. I have also found what I believe are 4 scrapers and 3 axe or adz heads. It appears like my property was used to start the process since I have found very few pieces that I would say are finished. I am open to any input as to what I have here. Thanks

1.JPG 2.JPG 3.JPG 4.JPG 5.JPG 6.JPG

Upvote 0

NCPeaches

Silver Member
Mar 24, 2013
Western Piedmont North Carolina
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi CaptFrank and welcome to the site! From what little I know and I'm not an expert by no means ... pic #4 top center 3 look definitely worked. The rest I can't tell but I do know you are not that far from me as the crow flies about 30 miles and your area as is mine was home to the Catawba and other Sioux speaking bands. I'd say you are on to something there and keep your eyes open for more. Also, look at some of my past posts to see the types of pottery shards you might find and I have found a few points and tools but more pottery shards than anything. Is there a creek nearby or on your property? That's also a great place to look too if there is one. Good luck and HH!

OP
OP
C

CaptFrank2001

May 25, 2014
Rutherfordton, NC
Detector(s) used
My eyes.
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
No pottery yet. Yes, there is a small spring fed creek on the back part of my property. I have founds some points in there.

NCPeaches

Silver Member
Mar 24, 2013
Western Piedmont North Carolina
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
No pottery yet. Yes, there is a small spring fed creek on the back part of my property. I have founds some points in there.