Silver Member
Apr 8, 2009
North Dakota
Detector(s) used
tesoro
Primary Interest:
Other
i've been driving over this rock all summer, it was stuck in the road
the other day i picked it up and it 'almost looks like it could have been a hoe or a shovel but maybe i am way way off??? and just plain wrong??

the "working end" sure seems like it was percussion flaked and seems to have usage wear???

what d'ya think? do you think it's a leverite?

IMG_0432.jpg IMG_0433.jpg IMG_0434.jpg IMG_0438.jpg

Upvote 0

rock

Gold Member
Aug 25, 2012
South
Detector(s) used
Coin Finder
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Anytime I see a rock with the cortex removed on it I pick it up and give it a look. Im not a expert on the rocks in your area but it looks worth saving.

OP
OP
larson1951

larson1951

Silver Member
Apr 8, 2009
North Dakota
Detector(s) used
tesoro
Primary Interest:
Other
Anytime I see a rock with the cortex removed on it I pick it up and give it a look. Im not a expert on the rocks in your area but it looks worth saving.

hey hey rock thanks

i am thinking shoulda i have never even posted the dang thing in the first place???

Last edited:

rock

Gold Member
Aug 25, 2012
South
Detector(s) used
Coin Finder
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Could even be a hand ax. I have some I don't post cause they are so darn ugly :)

Charl

Silver Member
Jan 19, 2012
Rhode Island
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I would not have left it either, Steve. Looks like sandstone, or at least a rock type you don't associate with flaking or tools. Similar tools from my end of the country that are often made of sandstone and other poorer quality rocks include the ones seen here. Your's is remindful in some ways, but I don't know what that might be in terms of Mandan culture.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    367.2 KB · Views: 86
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    339.2 KB · Views: 93
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    266.7 KB · Views: 99

Charl

Silver Member
Jan 19, 2012
Rhode Island