DigIron2

Silver Member
Jan 22, 2014
Virginia
Detector(s) used
Fisher f75/1270/1266x/Radio Shack Treasure tracker/
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Damn dude,did you leave any for anyone else down there:o hell of a NICE collection!Thanks for the view.

rock

Gold Member
Aug 25, 2012
South
Detector(s) used
Coin Finder
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Damn dude,did you leave any for anyone else down there:o hell of a NICE collection!Thanks for the view.

That's funny.
He is the Quartz King that's for sure.

BurntBear

Bronze Member
Jul 4, 2014
N.E. Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Shovels....lots of shovels!
Primary Interest:
Other
Hey guys,

I'm new to artifacts but very intrigued and interested. I'm in the field of Geology myself. Were there particular tribes that used Quartz for points or was it a common practice like flint? I personally have never seen Quartz points. I would think that Quartz would be more brittle than flint due to their crystal structure and therefore there would be less surviving artifacts

rock

Gold Member
Aug 25, 2012
South
Detector(s) used
Coin Finder
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Well most of what I find made from quartz is called a Morrow Mountain 7000-5000 B.P. Although I do find some from the Woodland Period but mostly MM.

GatorBoy

Gold Member
May 28, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Nice bunch of quartz there ....pretty sure I see a load of Morrow mountains some Guilford and maybe a kirk or two.. They used what they had access to that's for sure.
Every once in awhile some guys down here in northern Florida find a flint Morrow Mountain.. Seems like they really enjoyed that material they were usually fairly large comparatively

OP
OP
SCrocks

SCrocks

May 11, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys,