BurntBear

Bronze Member
Jul 4, 2014
N.E. Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Shovels....lots of shovels!
Primary Interest:
Other
I grew up on the Susquehanna River in Maryland. During my home-school education, I studied this tribe extensively. I even purchased a small dictionary of their language dialect for about $20 and has since been sold online for $350-$400! I can't seem to find my dictionary though. I do remember the words,"Onskat?"=One,"Oneegha/Caneegha"=Water and "Chanoona?"=Pipe.

I am truly fascinated by this tribe. They apparently were the only tribe to trade with all the nations of European settlers and also possessed firearms and cannons as well. Does anyone have any artifacts from the Susquehanna River area south of New York? Thanks!

Upvote 0

discoidal roller

May 4, 2012
Clarksburg, MD
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey BB, do you know about the Bald Friar Petroglyphs? They are an unbelievable group of rock art that was carved on an island in the middle of the lower Susquehanna, prior to the Conwingo dam construction. Luckily, our great state of Maryland removed them (with dynamite) and then dumped them in a big pile in Druid Hill Park, in the middle of Baltimore. There they sat for over 50 years, before an interested citizen said, hey where are all those cool rocks? Oh yeah, they're in a big pile over in the 'hood totally overgrown by weeds and ignored. Thanks Maryland Historical Trust, for instilling so much trust.

Maryland Historical Trust

redbeardrelics

Jan 3, 2014
Maryland's Eastern Shore
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI 2500, (Ace 250 spare)
Primary Interest:
Other
Hey there BurntBear, I grew up in Harford County, Creswell area, and have a lot of artifacts found in that vicinity. My Grandfathers farm was in the Street/Darlington area, and I have most of the artifacts that he found there, as well as a few that I found there myself.