Driftless Area Wisconsin stone tools or just... stones?

longlivethejeep

Oct 26, 2014
Bear Valley, WI
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
IMG_20141026_180559_790.jpg

Hi all, this is my first post, and I'm a hobbyist, so please don't ridicule me if these are just rocks (and a deer scapula). I found these in Bear Valley, which was a native settlement until the settlers moved in around the mid to late 1800's. I have a history book for the area that accounts the native inhabitants, and many artifacts are found in the area. We have effigy mounds, many of which have been destroyed by farming, but some still exist. My 5-year-old daughter and I regularly explore the area, landowners are often kind enough to show us around or give permission to go exploring. There is also a 600+ acre plot that is public that we regularly explore. I'm including a photo of where these were found. Most of them were either sticking out of the gound, partially exposed or sitting on top of the gound, where cattle hooves erode the land. Being so near the surface makes me think they're just rocks, but where these were found, there were many other rocks, but none were the same type. From my amateur perspective, they appear to be shaped, not naturally occuring. Especially the triangular one which appears to be sharpened at one end, and chipped as if it were used as a hoe or scraper. You can also notice a curvature on the bottom side, it is not flat.

IMG_20141026_205320_430.jpg

IMG_20141026_181029_484.jpg

IMG_20141026_205415_801.jpg

This one appears to be some kind of scraping tool maybe?

IMG_20141026_205059_719.jpg

IMG_20141026_181118_816.jpg

And this one had a rounded shaped end, maybe a grain or nut grinder?

IMG_20141026_205133_706.jpg

IMG_20141026_181018_613.jpg