The Quartz Factory

Charl

Silver Member
Jan 19, 2012
Rhode Island
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
If you're not crazy about quartz, southern New England is not the place for you:laughing7: Our most productive field yields ~90% quartz Wading River and Squibnocket Stemmed points. These simple points were products of a quartz pebble industry--no cores, no quarrying, just pick up a quartz pebble and bang out a point. The Mrs. and I have been walking this field for 25 years.
She was spreading them out for a look see last week and I took some photos. As I was telling yakker recently, it's only human to get a wee bit tired of quartz and more quartz, and it's a hard lithic to work, which can result in crude points, but plenty of decent points as well. Hunting southeastern New England means quartz and more quartz. Minority material from this field includes argillite Late Archaic stemmed and Brewertons.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    608.4 KB · Views: 96
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    546 KB · Views: 109
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    594.9 KB · Views: 91
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    618.2 KB · Views: 108
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    57.8 KB · Views: 90
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    120.2 KB · Views: 88
Upvote 0
OP
OP
Charl

Charl

Silver Member
Jan 19, 2012
Rhode Island
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Some in-situs from a couple weeks ago, and the only chert point from the field in 25 years. Oddly, I went c. 20 years without finding a triangle in this field, then found 2 in one day. And of course they were quartz.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    195.9 KB · Views: 89
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    80 KB · Views: 91
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    213.3 KB · Views: 89
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    116.1 KB · Views: 86
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    205.5 KB · Views: 101
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    116.9 KB · Views: 79
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    439.2 KB · Views: 89

NCPeaches

Silver Member
Mar 24, 2013