✅ SOLVED New to the Activity -- Possible Artifacts?

deaves

Nov 23, 2013
Port Colborne, Ontario
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Someone suggested I post my pictures in this forum for some help. I'm fairly new to this activity, but I recently found these two interesting pieces of chert (not naturally found in the immediate area where I found them) on the north shore of Lake Erie in an area known to have been home to Neutral Indians prior to European settlement.

The one piece of chert shows definite signs of work, so I'm guessing it might be a blade tip or something similar. The other piece has me stumped. The shape is unusual for chert, and I'm heard some people say it's just a rock while others with some experience say that I might have something interesting on my hands. Any input on these two pieces would be appreciated. I'm really excited about learning more about this field.

Attachments

• side 1.jpg
    side 1.jpg
    443.2 KB · Views: 92
  • chert 1.jpg
    chert 1.jpg
    399.6 KB · Views: 134
Upvote 0

uzd

Feb 24, 2015
Cowtown
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I agree w/answer on duplicate post about chert. The other fish shaped piece when examined hi-res and cleaned shows wear pattern as is seen on hafted tools or objects. Deductive reasoning suggests tied w/strands of hair/raffia where it's waisted and worn as pendant

quito

Silver Member
Mar 31, 2008
south dakota
Detector(s) used
good eyes
The first piece looks like a piece of debitage, or waste flake. The other, I am pretty certain is just a natural formation.

NCPeaches

Silver Member
Mar 24, 2013
Western Piedmont North Carolina
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I agree the first is probably a flake and a keeper, might have been a utilized flake. The other is iffy due to it's smoothness but could be a water worn artifact, it's hard to tell.

joshuaream

Silver Member
Jun 25, 2009
Florida & Hong Kong