Bits & Pieces in Pa.

george77

Greenie
May 31, 2007
Harrisburg, Pa.
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300
Bits & Pieces in Pa.

I'm new to metal detecting and relic/artifact hunting. But I've been reading up on local history for years now. Anyway, my childhood stomping grounds always held some intangible allure for me, as the woods at the edge of town do for most young boys (and girls).

I believe they sit on top of, or very nearby to, a Native American town.

Ignoring the coins in the picture, my finds include a pottery shard, a broken pendant or gorget, and two musket balls--one lead and one stone, I believe.

Can anyone confirm my initial identification of the pattern on the pottery as being typical Iroquois, Susquehannock, or Delaware? And how about the pendant/gorget, any guesses of origin?

And finally, has anyone else found stone musket balls? Is there a history of Native American use of stone musket balls? I read that stones were used at times, and presumed that, if anyone, they would have made such ammunition when lead was not available or traded for.

Thanks for any thoughts on this.

HH,
George

P.S. This is just as fun as I dreamed it would be!

Attachments

• 017.jpg
    017.jpg
    17.3 KB · Views: 290
  • 017.jpg
    017.jpg
    17.3 KB · Views: 254
Upvote 0

fossis

Gold Member
Jan 5, 2007
eastern Oklahoma
Detector(s) used
Whites Prizm 11 & White's XLT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Re: Bits & Pieces in Pa.

Welcome george77, this is a great hobby, as you
will soon learn.

I can't help on the identification of the gorget & pottery
but some indians used stone balls for "gaming pieces"
Good luck & HH,

Fossis.................

badandy

Aug 31, 2005
Collinsville, IL.

Nice pottery and coins! The stone balls you speak of were more than likely game balls, kinda like todays marbles. Jmo.
badandy

coalfire

Dec 16, 2006
East Coast