Senate Bill 3127-S

the_mad_cladder

Jan 2, 2015
North Carolina
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus with all the coils, MI-6 pinpointer, Ace350 and Garrett pro pointer.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
So this just pertains to illegaly obtained objects, it that right?

EricTheCat

Oct 4, 2011
Southern Minnesota
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My interpretation is that it has to do with the export of artifacts. That said, I am not a lawyer so I welcome seeing other interpretations as I may be incorrect.

Thanks for bringing this up.

Buckleberry

Sep 4, 2010
“(1) in the case of a first violation under this section, be fined under this title, imprisoned for not more than 1 year, or both;"
Yes, what this country needs is more people in prison for non-violent crimes...we already have the highest prison population in the world.

Charl

Silver Member
Jan 19, 2012
Rhode Island
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
This act stems from the sale of articles considered by the Hopi to be sacred and communal, at auction, in Paris, and over the course of the past several years.

Indianz.Com > Tribes support bill in Senate to stop the export of cultural property

And here are earlier articles describing these auctions. And the results of one, in which many of the articles were purchased with the expressed purpose of returning them to Hopi elders....

Controversy Over the Auction in France of Native American Artifacts - The Atlantic