Big Sandy Broad Base?

BearCreek

Apr 10, 2016
Georgia
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 300
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
The treasures just keep coming! First the beautiful green Tallahatta Quartzite point and now this little gem. It also showed up in the round pen we just put in for training our horses. I can't believe it is just missing a little of one barb. I'm just learning to identify types, but it seems to have a lot of characteristics of the Big Sandy Broad Base. Any ideas on type?

This was a surface find on our farm in NW Georgia.

Attachments

• IMG_2067.JPG
    IMG_2067.JPG
    57.5 KB · Views: 88
  • IMG_2068.JPG
    IMG_2068.JPG
    32.9 KB · Views: 79
Upvote 0

old digger

Gold Member
Jan 15, 2012
Montana
Detector(s) used
White's MXT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Cool Find! :icon_thumleft:
Looks like you ought to some sifting in and around that horse corral?

sandchip

Silver Member
Oct 29, 2010
Georgia
Detector(s) used
Teknetics T2SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
With no beveling apparent, it looks like a heavily resharpened Kirk Corner Notch to me, and the missing barb looks like a case of intentional shoulder removal. Can you get a little better shot of that feature? Looks like you're on a roll, gal!

dts52

Bronze Member
Jun 20, 2015
NW CT
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Equinox800 / AT Pro / AT Gold / Makro Racer
Vibra-probe / TRX pp
Primary Interest:
Other
Beautiful find!
HH
dts

OP
OP
BearCreek

BearCreek

Apr 10, 2016
Georgia
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 300
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting