Unidentified Projectile Points

RamRodX

Jul 22, 2018
Murfreesboro, TN
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to the TreasureNet forum and a relative beginner in the identification of Native American artifacts. I recently purchased a collection of ~50 points and other stone artifacts and have had A LOT of fun researching each point to determine its type and origin. Needless to say this isn’t an exact science, which has made it even more fun!

With that said, I’ve hit the proverbial wall on a few points and was hoping you could help me. My guess is that they are a fairly common point type, but I have been unable to identify them through the typical beginner channels (i.e. Overstreet guide, ProjectilePoints.net, etc.).

I have attached a picture of what I believe to be similar points, except for one is made from quartz (and fairly transparent). I don’t have any background information on where the points were found. I purchased the collection from a family in Tennessee and they mentioned it belonged to a now deceased family member that once lived in Florida.

unidentified-points-07-22-2018.jpg

Thanks ahead of time for any insight you can provide!

Upvote 0

Rookster

Gold Member
Nov 24, 2013
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, F75Ltd., AT PRO, Garrett pointer
Primary Interest:
Cache Hunting
Welcome to Tnet.

sandchip

Silver Member
Oct 29, 2010
Georgia
Detector(s) used
Teknetics T2SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to the crowd. If I had to guess on your points, I'd say Benton. In addition to the shape, the material looks more like something you'd find in Tennessee than Florida. Remember though, this is coming from someone stuck in between in Georgia, so what do I know!

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to the TreasureNet forum...
tn_md.gif