✅ SOLVED Nutting Stone?

RamRodX

Jul 22, 2018
Murfreesboro, TN
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to the TreasureNet forum and a relative beginner in the identification of Native American artifacts. I recently purchased a collection of ~50 points and other stone artifacts and have had A LOT of fun trying to research each item. I'm hoping some of the experts on this forum could help me identify a few items in the days ahead (you've already been a great help with a few arrowheads I couldn't make sense of).

Here's one of the items from the collection. I think it may be a nutting stone, but would love the opinion of the forum participants on what it may be (and the approximate value if truly Native American).

A couple of things that stood out to me is that the hole is cut (or grinded) back at an angle, similar to the motion of grinding and twisting in a backwards motion. Also the bottom of the stone is worn very smooth and rounded, but the bottom center has a flattened part chipped out.

Any thoughts?

unidentified-stone-07-23-2018C.jpg

unidentified-stone-07-23-2018B.jpg

unidentified-stone-07-23-2018A.jpg

unidentified-stone-07-23-2018D.jpg

Upvote 0
OP
OP
RamRodX

RamRodX

Jul 22, 2018
Murfreesboro, TN
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Ugh, I was hoping for a different answer, but the truth hurts sometimes!

sandchip

Silver Member
Oct 29, 2010
Georgia
Detector(s) used
Teknetics T2SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've got one very similar. I'll throw it on if I can find it. Figured it was natural, but I kept it since it looks like a bedpan!

unclemac

Gold Member
Oct 12, 2011
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
"nutting stones" are 99% EBAY nonsense.

Paleo_joe

Mar 5, 2011
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting