newbie here, first find/hammerstone ?

DannG

Oct 12, 2018
LI, NY
Primary Interest:
Other
Hey Everyone,
I've been looking for arrowheads on Long Island, with no success for a few years now.
I did finally pull this stone up in Massapequa ( Long Island) last summer. A friend of mine lives south of Merrick Rd, near where an Indian Fort was located.
I think it may be a hammerstone, but have no experience, any opinions ?
It fits the hand comfortably, even showing signs of being worked to let the thumb grasp more firmly. If held a certain way, the bottom flat surface looks stained with a reddish color, showing much more wear than the rest of the stone ?
Thanks for looking
DannG

Attachments

• IMG_7300.JPG
    IMG_7300.JPG
    836.8 KB · Views: 97
  • IMG_7296.JPG
    IMG_7296.JPG
    783.1 KB · Views: 86
  • IMG_7297.JPG
    IMG_7297.JPG
    775.2 KB · Views: 80
Upvote 0

A2coins

Gold Member
Dec 20, 2015
Ann Arbor
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Could be not all of em were perfectly crafted nice find

HuntH2002

Bronze Member
May 27, 2018
San Antonio, TX
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
2015 Bounty Hunter Discovery 1100 // 2015 Bounty Hunter Ultra Mag Sharpshooter // 2019 Garrett Pro-Pointer AT
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Welcome to TN from Southeast Texas

Rookster

Gold Member
Nov 24, 2013
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, F75Ltd., AT PRO, Garrett pointer
Primary Interest:
Cache Hunting
Not a rock guy but Welcome to Tnet.

Charl

Silver Member
Jan 19, 2012
Rhode Island
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting