Hell's Canyon Basal Notched ?

OntarioArch

Nov 26, 2017
Cayuga County NY
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Another yard sale find: beautiful, delicate obsidian point with white mineralization visible inside notches and along edges; excellent condition; I have this as a Hell's Canyon Basal Notched (yard sale box, for what it's worth, said it was from 'Far West') Any opinions welcomed!
HC BN 2.jpg
hc bn1.jpg

Upvote 0

Icewing

Silver Member
Jan 5, 2016
NW Arkanslaw
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 900 / Garrett PropointerAT.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am no expert so take this with a pinch of salt, but my first impression is that it's possibly a modern reproduction (not old) if you will.

OP
OP
OntarioArch

OntarioArch

Nov 26, 2017
Cayuga County NY
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Could be. I need to buy a stereo microscope....just received Jim Bennett's book on detecting fakes...this piece will be near top of my list.

The Grim Reaper

Gold Member
Apr 3, 2008
Southern Ohio
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The white patina on it is a good sign for it being old. I have several from the Great Basib that have that same white patina and I know mine are good because they were given to me by the finder who used to post here.

OP
OP
OntarioArch

OntarioArch

Nov 26, 2017
Cayuga County NY
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
The white patina on it is a good sign for it being old. I have several from the Great Basib that have that same white patina and I know mine are good because they were given to me by the finder who used to post here.

Well thanks, Grim. I hope so, but I am realistic. I own several 'contemporary' pieces. :) Let me get a paycheck or two and order me a microscope. Sounds like.... if I am going to continue this hobby....especially for a new guy with limited experience (2 years) and not having looked at AND HELD hundreds and hundreds of artifacts....a 'scope is called for.

And...who would take the time to apply fake patina on a $25 piece?