Pottery, maybe??

Sum585

Greenie
Jan 28, 2017
South Carolina
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Our property is located in SC Piedmont region where Catawba indians once inhabited the area. Our home is on a hill above a rocky creek. There is also a smaller seasonal creek that forks with the larger creek nearby. I'm pretty sure we live on what was once a Native American campsite. The location is prime and I have found two large mortar stones (the first stone is what got me hooked on looking for artifacts) and one small arrow. Rain washed out the topsoil in our backyard where these [possible] pottery sherds have been exposed. I've done research online and I check out all of the finds on here, but I'm no expert (although I'm trying to learn as much as I can) and I would appreciate any input on what these may be.* Thank you!! -SL

Attachments

• 20191013_145452.jpg
    20191013_145452.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 87
  • 20191013_145440.jpg
    20191013_145440.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 62
  • 20191013_145600.jpg
    20191013_145600.jpg
    524.1 KB · Views: 91
  • 20191013_145739.jpg
    20191013_145739.jpg
    657.1 KB · Views: 59
Upvote 0
OP
OP
S

Sum585

Greenie
Jan 28, 2017
South Carolina
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks for taking a look! I had my doubts, but I had to be sure since it looked so different from other rocks around it with the gritty texture. I haven't found any pieces that are obvious pottery sherds and I have a feeling most pieces I pick up are just thin rocks. I'll keep looking, though. I know there's got to be more stuff around here!

Older The Better

Silver Member
Apr 24, 2017
south east kansas
Detector(s) used
Whites Eagle Spectrum
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Not gospel but pottery usually has a bit of a curve to it and is somewhat consistent thickness

Lone Star

Jan 6, 2010
North of the Balcones Escarpment
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 400
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting