Can you search anywhere near rivers?

Slug

Jan 24, 2021
Georgetown, Texas
Detector(s) used
Cheap $100 Tracker IV. (Haven't gotten really into this yet)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello my name is Hunter aka (Slug), im new to hunting and im sure ive walked over many tools in search of arrowheads lol, but where can you search along streams and rivers? I live near San Gabriel River in Texas and its full of rocks you walk on. Just dont know where exactly tribes were if any. Thanks

Upvote 1
OP
OP
S

Slug

Jan 24, 2021
Georgetown, Texas
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
One nice thing about rivers is that they sort the rocks for you, in a way. Look for gravelbeds that have rocks in the 1 to 3 inch size and preferably flat. If there are any artifact in that bank, thats where they will be hiding. Other than that walk, walk, walk with your head down.

Perfect. That’s exactly what I’m looking at down near this river. Thank you :)

unclemac

Gold Member
Oct 12, 2011
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
if you tell us where along the San Gabriel you are we can look at maps and steer you into a good spot or two.

OP
OP
S

Slug

Jan 24, 2021
Georgetown, Texas
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
South fork it says here’s a picture for you, I pinpointed where exactly I walk down to the river. It’s on the curve in the river. F066F727-3A48-45A7-BB89-AE275D98D708.png

The roads should be able to give you an idea too of where I’m at. Ronald Reagan Blvd and Hero Way.

I had a guy tell me there were many mounds near my area(Over the Ronald Reagan bridge but haven’t seen him in 3 years, but he has a crazy point collection.

unclemac

Gold Member
Oct 12, 2011
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting