NEW BERN HUNTER

wobax

Dec 13, 2007
New Bern, NC
Detector(s) used
White's XLT
Hi,

I'm new to this forum. I live in New Bern. retired Marine. I have been hunting by myself since I started a few years ago. I was looking for other hunters around the New Bern area. Are there any good spots left in this area? Does everyone have as tough of a time getting permission as I seem to have? It seems like I say "metal detecting" and land owners turn hostile. Is there a secret to getting permission? I don't know a lot of people in the area so I have been going up knocking on doors.

Gilligan

Bronze Member
Sep 23, 2007
Seymour Johnson AFB, NC
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75 LTD, Deteknix Scuba Tector
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I work at the FD at Seymour Johnson AFB. We go to Onslow Beach at Lejeune every now and then and stay in the lodges, great place. I have done some detecting at that beach too. I have also been to New Bern detecting a couple times. My feeling is that since the area is so old and rich in history, that landowners are tired of metal detectors, kind of protective of stuff there. When I detected there, I discovered a lot that had been cleared off of Pollock St downtown. They had scraped about 1 1/2 feet out for a parking lot. I found an old hammered coin, 1802 Large Cent (my first ever at that time), a Hackensack, NJ WW-1 commemorative fob of some sort, some CW bullets and a five-cent piece, I think 1839. Just watch for the construction sites. Anywhere in that area could produce as so much stuff happened there over the years. Some trivia--did you know that Carlos Hathcock, the marine sniper, lived in New Bern at one time?? Congrats on retirement! Take care, Bryan

red949597

Nov 21, 2007
CHINQUAPIN NC
Detector(s) used
bounty hunter 505, whites prizm lll