Pulse Star II Pro - Review of Professional Relic Detector

Feb 27, 2006
Detector(s) used
Pulse Star II
Primary Interest:
Cache Hunting
As I have not seen a review of this detector, I feel an obligation to give it a fair review as a trail hardened user. Because I'm not technically a treasure hunter, I think I can give an unbiased review.

Lets start first with the manufacture's website at:
http://www.tb-electronic.de/start/index2.html
In the US the only distibutor is the excellent Kellyco people.
http://www.kellycodetectors.com

I'm a meteorite field researcher and hunter, so I can say with authority that this unit is great for meteorites. Its price point is at $2,000 vs $5000 for the competitor's Lorentz unit.

Second, the technology. This is a PI machine. As in Pulse Induction, that gives you greater depth and less trouble from minerals. The coils are induction auto-matched to the unit to give greatest performance. Those who have tried to build PI units, you will understand the benifits. Battery life is 10 hours before recharge. Recharger is supplied for dual 220/110 voltages.

Third, the coils. The unit comes with a 1m x 1m coil. Thats 3.28'x3.28' for those not up to speed yet. This is not a rod mounted coil, but one that must be put on a frame or carried. There is a 2m x 2m coil that can be bought to cover ground faster. The exciting thing about this coil is that it can be converted into a 1m x 3m coil to cover a 3m swath of ground and only forfeit depth back to a 1mx1m coil. The coils work best when mounted on a PVC pipe frame with all plastic wheels and parts. It is possible to attach a frame to an ATV and drive. But you must drive VERY SLOWLY or you miss targets, as in walking speeds. I know, I've missed some meteorites this way; then found the one I missed when I rechecked by walking the coil later.