santurinos

Greenie
Dec 26, 2010
South-West Georgia
Detector(s) used
BH Platinum - Omega 8000 -10" -11ā€ DD - 5ā€ DD - Garrett Pro-Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am new to metal detecting, I bought a XJ9-3050 from Treasure Hunter. Unfortunately, there is not much to learn from the cheap manual.
Originally - I expected to find some coins on my farm, but after a first field-trial ā€“ I lost a quarter (sand, 11ā€ deep). At the moment ā€“ I try to find the other one at 9 inchesā€¦
I set it to motion discrimination with automatic ground balance, I change the sensitivity and discrimination from low to high - no result.
I paid just about 200 dollars on e-bay (plus two lost quartersā€¦) The low price got my attention. The advertising claims the MD detects a quarter at 12ā€ deep.

I am a little bit disappointed at the moment. Then again ā€“ I need to learn a bit more to be able to judge this new ā€˜thingā€™.

Do you have some experience with this detector? How is yours working?
My wife and I expect to have some fun with our new hobby, on our 165 acre farm with plenty of Civil War and Indian artifacts.
We will visit the beaches in Florida, the beautiful creeks in the North Georgia mountains - of course with our MD in the back seatā€¦

I will tell you more in a few weeks about my experience (and how many more quartersā€¦)
Yā€™ALL take care ā€“ santurinos.

George (MN)

May 16, 2005
The detector you bought is sold under many brand names, Gold Century, Famous Trails, etc. It can probably air test a silver dollar at 12". The seller tries to make it sound like it detects anything everywhere at 12". No detector will.