New to panning (NC)

cook1100

Jan 9, 2012
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Great web site I just found it about 10 mins ago. I have lived in NC my whole life and live just out side of Asheboro. I have two creeks that run the property. I am new to panning and have no idea where to start panning and unsure if the two creeks on the property are worth panning. Any help would be great.
Thanks

Upvote 0

Jeffro

Silver Member
Dec 6, 2005
Eugene, Oregon
Detector(s) used
Fisher CZ5, White's GM VSat
Check out the videos all over youtube about how to pan. Try a few pans full of dirt and throw in a couple BB's or lead shot fishing weights. Once you get the hang of it without losing you BB's, head on down to the creek and do some test panning. You should take your samples from areas where there is a lot of river rock, not that loose, loamy soil. If there's gold in your creeks, you'll find it :)

B H Prospector

Feb 2, 2010
Black Hills, South Dakota
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi Cook,
welcome to the forum. As you read through the threads you will find everyone is more than willing to help and you will learn alot. You didn't say how deep or wide the creeks are but this info will work for most creeks if they aren't too deep.
Look for sand bars on the inside of bends in the creek. Gold is 19+ times heavier than water and twice as heavy as lead. So it isn't going to be sitting on top. You will need to do alot of digging. Also look for exposed bedrock in and out of the creek and clean out the cracks and depressions of all the dirt you can get. Exposed bedrock out of the creek will capture gold during flood stage. bedrock in a live creek needs more specialized equipment. Also dig around large boulders, especially on the downstream side. Roots and moss will also catch gold. Clean it very good.